DIY Projects

Creative Outlet Week 1 – DIY Coasters

I have been obsessed with Mod Podge since I was about 10 years old.  Just opening the jar and releasing the familiar fumes is enough to take me back to my childhood.  I think my first Mod Podge project consisted of decoupaging horse images onto a piece of wood.  It was hideous, but my mom dutifully hung it on the wall in the family room in all its glory for everyone to behold.  My stylish sensibilities have come a long way since then, but Mod Podge is still something I use in DIY projects all the time.  My most recent MP creation was a set of coasters I made for my daughter when she moved into her new house.  I liked them so much I decided to make a set for myself.  All of the supplies can be found at www.consumercrafts.com and are very affordable.  This is what you will need:

DIY coaster supplies

There are tons of really cool decorative papers on the market right now.  I chose one that looks like vintage newsprint with a teal damask pattern over the top.  First, I lay the glass coaster over the paper and traced around it with a pencil.  Then I cut the paper to size, just smaller than the actual coaster so it doesn’t hang over the sides.  Then I brushed on a thin layer of MP to the top of the paper and placed it on the coaster.  Smooth out any air bubbles and set aside to dry.   The MP will dry clear, but you can see brush marks so take your time when brushing to get it as smooth as possible.

coastersP1000096_edited-1

Lastly, affix the self-adhesive felt dots to the corners on the back and you are done.  These are so fast and easy to make and look great.  I literally made these during two commercial breaks of Anderson Cooper.  You could also tie a ribbon around them and give them as a hostess gift with a bottle of wine!

coaster&wine

2 thoughts on “Creative Outlet Week 1 – DIY Coasters

Leave a Reply

