Food

Food for Thought – Shamrock Cake Bombs

DSC01438_edited-1I was visiting my cousin John in San Francisco the other day and for fun we were going to make cake pops.  He had the brilliant idea of eliminating the stick and putting them in mini baking cups, so instead of cake pops he named them Cake Bombs.  They were so delicious and so easy to make and no one missed the stick.

Maybe One Will Fall in my Mouth
Maybe One Will Fall in my Mouth

As I was putting one in my mouth I shouted “Ohmgsh, shmrckckbmbs!”  My mouth was full, so what I meant to say was “Oh my gosh, shamrock cake bombs!”   You see, I am going to be helping with an event at our local art gallery the day before St. Patrick’s Day and have been thinking of fun snacks to serve. Green cake on the inside, white chocolate on the outside with shamrock sprinkles!  Brilliant!  I decided to take a test run to see how they turned out.

This is what I used:

1 Box Vanilla Cake Mix

1 Can Vanilla Frosting

2 Bags White Wilton Candy Melts

Green Food Coloring

Shamrock Sprinkles

Mini Baking Cups

How to make:

DSC01445_edited-1  DSC01447_edited-1  DSC01450_edited-1    DSC01460

Prepare the cake mix according to the directions on the box.  Before pouring the batter into your cake pan add green food coloring until you get the color you like.  Pour batter into prepared cake pan and bake according to directions.  Remove cake from oven and let it cool down.  While cake is cooling, add green food coloring to 4 TBSP of vanilla frosting.  When cake is cool, crumble into a bowl and add frosting, starting with just 2 TBSP.  Mix together until cake holds together and you can form a ball in your hands.  Add more frosting if needed.  Using a small scoop form cake into balls and roll in your hands until smooth.  Place on a parchment lined cookie sheet and put in the freezer until they are firm, about 20 – 30 minutes.  Just before you take them out, melt your candy melts according to the directions on the package.  Roll cake bombs in melted candy and hit them with the shamrock sprinkles.  Place back on cookie sheet until candy has hardened.  Put into the mini baking cups and serve.

They're Magically Delicious
They’re Magically Delicious

The next thing I will be working on is a recipe for corned beef and cabbage egg rolls and will post it as soon as I have it figured out 🙂

6 thoughts on “Food for Thought – Shamrock Cake Bombs

Leave a Reply

