DIY Projects · Food · Uncategorized

Top of the Morning to You

stpatsmangfairy003

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

I’ve got my corned beef in the crock pot covered with Guinness and I’m about to tint some beer green.  It is officially St. Patrick’s Day in our house.  Last night we were at the Blue Line Arts Gallery for the Third Saturday Art Walk and I was serving up my Shamrock Cake Bombs and Irish Dumplings.  We had a great turnout and had so much fun meeting everyone that came out.

DSC01523_edited-1

Here are some of the projects I used for the event:

1.  Cake Stands

I purchased a green candlestick and perfume bottle at an antique store and clear glass plates from the Dollar Store.  I used crazy glue and attached the candlestick to one plate and the top of the perfume bottle, which I thought looked like a clover, to the other and tah dah – cake stands!

DSC01503_edited-1   DSC01534_edited-1   DSC01535_edited-1

2.  St. Patrick’s Day Bunting

I downloaded these images from Graphics Fairy and attached to twine  with a glue stick to make this St. Patrick’s Day bunting.

DSC01531_edited-1

3.  Green Flower Arrangements

I purchased a flower arrangement at the grocery store and separated the blooms to make 3 different arrangements.  I used the perfume bottle from project #1 for one arrangement and another green bottle with vintage photo attached for another.  The third is with a simple vase purchased at the Dollar Store with a green polka dot ribbon tied around it.

DSC01540_edited-1

4.  Pot of Gold

I purchased a clear bowl from the Dollar Store, brushed on some Mod Podge and covered with gold glitter.  I then sprayed on clear acrylic to seal and keep the glitter from falling off.  Lastly I filled it with gold chocolate coins for my “Pot of Gold”.

DSC01522_edited-1   DSC01544_edited-1

5.  Clover Plant

I purchased this clover plant from Trader Joe’s and used the leprechaun decoration that came with my grocery store flower arrangement to embelish it.

DSC01542_edited-1

6.  Glittered Shamrocks

I downloaded a shamrock image from Graphics Fairy and used it as a template and cut out shamrocks from foam board.  I inserted wooden skewers and covered them with glue and green glitter.

DSC01537_edited-1

As you can see, I spent very little for these decorations and they were so simple to put together.  They were a big hit and a festive addition to our event.

So how are you spending St. Patrick’s day?  I hope you have some green to wear.   If not, download these and pin one to your shirt ; )

Leave a Reply

