Home & Garden

Let Your Home Tell Your Story

One of the things I really try to do with every client is get a sense of who they are, where they come from and what makes them tick.  Your home should be a direct reflection of your personality, or it can come off as being stiff and impersonal.  If you look around my home, you will find hints to my family’s background, the things we like to do and our sense of humor.  For instance, my stepmother and my husband’s family are both from England, so I have items that proudly display the Union Jack, crowns and English bulldogs.  I also love food and wine, not necessarily in that order, so I created a wine wall to display my collection (when I say I created what I really mean is I designed it and my husband created it).  I also love the look of taxidermy, but don’t really want any part in the actual hunting and killing of animals.  So with tongue firmly planted in cheek, I proudly display my deer head trophy on my wall, made out of cardboard of course!  I also love the idea of framing mementos, family crests, letters, and anything that brings meaning and honor to your life.

Here are some examples of things you can do in your own home:

1.  Showcase your family’s heritage in a bold way.

unionjackchair

Image Source

2.  Create a gallery wall with your family initial, historical photos and framed memorabilia.

familygallerywall

Image Source

3.  Do you love a certain breed of dog?  Show it in your artwork and accessories.

jackrusselart  dogcookiejars     sleepinglabart

Image Source 1 ,2, 3

4.  If travel is your thing, how about a wall of suitcase shelves with souvenirs you’ve picked up along the way.  Or maybe an entire wall of maps to places you’ve been or would like to go.

suitcaseshelves

wallofmaps

Image Source

Every family has a different story and your home is the illustration to that story.  I hope these ideas inspire you to create a space that is uniquely you, one that honors who you are and where you come from, and gives your visitors a glimpse into your family’s history.

Lynne  xxoo

There is still time to register for my decorating workshop this Sunday, January 19, at Blue Line Arts in Roseville.  To secure your space, send an email to lynne@lynnepearce.com with your name and phone number by Saturday, January 18.

2 thoughts on “Let Your Home Tell Your Story

Leave a Reply

