Home & Garden

Online design resources that might surprise you

Shopping is a big part of what I do as an interior designer; I know it’s a tough job, but someone’s got to do it.  I spend hours and hours combing through websites and catalogs searching for the perfect pillow, vase, lamp, coffee table, etc., etc., etc.  It’s the little details of a room that really bring it to life and are what take a “ho-hum” space to a “wow, this is the most fabulous room I’ve ever seen” space. Sometimes it’s a one-of-a-kind piece that I find at a flea market or antique store, or it might be something found from a designer’s only resource, but a lot of times I find the perfect thing from some online stores that you might not consider when you think of home design.  And because I am the generous person that I am, I am willing to share my top secret design sources with you.  You’re welcome!

1.  H&M  You might think of H&M when shopping for your teenager for trendy, affordable clothing, but did you know they also sell home decor?  It’s one of my favorite sites for home accessories that don’t break the bank.

HMHome

2. Zara  Another company known for clothing, Zara, also has a pretty fabulous line of home accessories.  Even if you never buy anything from them, go to their site to peruse their look book. They always have beautiful, inspiring photos.  I go to this site for everything from bedding and textiles to tabletop and bar ware.

ZaraCollage

3.  Minted  This site is well-known for invitations, stationery and Christmas cards, but they are also a great resource for art.  They are a marketplace for independent artists and have a really nice selection of prints and limited edition artwork.  They have a few different framing options, or you can order unframed as well.  Whether you are looking for abstracts, landscapes or photography, you can find it here.

Minted

4.  Urban Outfitters  Yes, this is the store you go to when in college and looking for that off-color gift item for your best friend.  But occasionally, I also find some pretty cool home decor and accessories.  Don’t believe me?  Take a look!

UrbanOutfitters

Do you have any unexpected shopping places for your home?  I would love to hear about them…hey, I shared with you!

4 thoughts on “Online design resources that might surprise you

Leave a Reply

