Fashion · Organization

Fashion Police Week 1 – Closet Clean Out

“The only kind of clothes you should have in your closet are clothes that fit you, clothes you look great in and clothes that garner you tons of compliments when you wear them.  Don’t have ‘wish’ clothes in your closet.  These clothes exist for only one reason:  to mock you.”– Peter Walsh

As I stand here looking at my over-stuffed closet I’m feeling completely overwhelmed.  I thought I could just waltz in here, start tossing out old items and have it looking perfect lickety-split.  Ha!  I underestimated the type of chore this was going to be.  I have come to the realization I need to come up with a plan and then start knocking it off in chunks.  Ok, I’m feeling better, my heart rate is slowing down and my breathing is starting to normalize.  A plan is what I need, so here we go:

  1. I’ve decided to implement the same idea I used in my kitchen for cleaning out my drawers – ten minute clean out sessions.  Ten minutes are not overwhelming.  I can fit it into my schedule every day, and if I have time and am feeling up to it I can always do more.  Ten minutes I can commit to every day until it is done.
  2. I will do one section of my closet at a time.  Take out everything in that section and make 3 piles – keep, donate, throw out.
  3. Every item I keep must pass this test:  Does it fit the size I am now?  Do I feel great when I where it?  Have I worn it in the past year?  If it does not pass the test I must put in the donate pile (if it is in good condition and can benefit someone else) or throw it out.
  4. I will make a list of items I keep and when I am completely finished with my closet I will know what items I need to complete my wardrobe.  I will not buy anything new until this is done.
  5. I will not keep anything just for sentimental reasons.  If I cannot wear it now and it cannot be used by someone else it has to go.  My exception is going to be this black jumpsuit from the 80’s, cuz that’s totally going straight into my costume trunk!

P1000135_edited-1

You are my witness!  I will do this everyday and by next Sunday you will get to see the results of my project.  You will either see a perfectly organized closet, or a big fat mess.  I’m pretty sure I don’t want to publish photos of my big fat mess so I am committing myself to get this done.

So here goes . . . 10 minutes are set on the timer . . . wish me luck!

4 thoughts on “Fashion Police Week 1 – Closet Clean Out

  1. Lynn, I cleaned out my closet, took the good stuff I don’t wear to Crossroads Trading, and got a big fat check for $251.18. Now closet is clean and I have a little cash.

Leave a Reply

