Health & Fitness

Get Moving – My Fitness Pal App

 

Image representing iPhone as depicted in Crunc...

My post today is short and sweet.  I just wanted to share with you something that my daughter  told me about this morning.  It is a free app called My Fitness Pal.  It is available for Iphone, Ipads, Android, Blackberry and Windows phones.  My Fitness Pal makes it easy for you to track your daily caloric intake, as well as physical activity, without being tied to your computer.  It has over 2 million food items stored, as well as many restaurant items, and you can even scan package bar codes.  You put in your basic information, age, height, weight, activity level and weight loss goal, and it calculates how many calories you should consume in a day.  As you log in your meals, it tells you how many calories you have left for the day.  If you log in exercise, it adds those calories back.  Now that’s motivation to get moving!  I downloaded the app today and it is really user-friendly.  Medical studies show that keeping a food journal doubles your weight loss.  I love the fact that you can eat what you want, as long as you don’t go over your allotted calories for the day, or just exercise to make up the difference.  I know of other programs like this that charge as much as $40 per month.  This is completely, 100% free!  Very cool!

6 thoughts on “Get Moving – My Fitness Pal App

  1. I love MFP! I find it really helpful.

    I also got a fitbit which works with MFP and tracks your steps/stairs/calories burned and makes adjustments.

    I have a great number of friends on MFP which really helps with motivation.

  2. I just started using this again today! It’s my favorite because it has like every possible food and almost every exercise! It’s simple. I like the idea of other apps, but I don’t have time to fiddle around searching and adding foods too often. MFP is awesome!

  3. I like the helpful information you supply in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your blog and test once more here frequently.
    I’m moderately sure I will learn many new stuff right
    here! Best of luck for the following!

Leave a Reply

